Republic High School English Department


English Department
  • English Department Overview

     
    The English Department at Republic High School exists to prepare students for future endeavors after graduation. Our goal is to help develop students' writing, reading, speaking, and listening skills so that they can be successful upon graduation either in the workforce or in the college setting. 
     

    Teacher Information

    TEACHERS

    CONTACTS

    COURSES

    Amy Bollinger

    amy.bollinger@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5201

    • English 2
    • English 3

    Deb Chastain

    deb.chastain@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5159

    • English 1
    • Literacy Connections

    Lisa Deckard - Department Chair

    lisa.deckard@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5196
    • English 2

    Amanda Hamilton

    amanda.hamilton@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5201
    • Applied Communications 1
    • English 1
    • Reading 2

    Kristin Howard

    kristin.howard@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5295 or 5324
    • Creative Writing
    • English 4 Honors
    • Journalism/Publications
    Rachel Kramer rachel.kramer@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5187
    • English 1
    • English 3

    Nicole McBroom

    nicole.mcbroom@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5124
    • English 2
    • Workforce Communications

    Joshua Neufeld

    joshua.neufeld@republicschools.org 417-732-3650 ext. 5155

    • Applied Communications 2

    Megan Reaves

    megan.reaves@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5329
    • Creative Writing
    • English 4
    • Literature, Leadership, & Society

    Brittny Rogers

    brittny.rogers@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5156
    • English 3 and 3 Honors

    Kathy Scales

    kathy.scales@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5136
    • English 2

    Karissa Talty

    karissa.talty@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5307
    • Advanced Speech and Debate
    • English 1
    • Intro to Speech and Debate
    • Public Speaking

    Katrina Townsend

    katrina.townsend@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5197
    • Applied Communications 3
    • Applied Communications 4
    • English 4
    • Workforce Communications

    Layne Wilson

    layne.wilson@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5146
    • English 3

    Deniece Yendes

    deniece.yendes@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5168
    • English 1
     
  • Specific Course Information

     
    Graduation Requirements:
    Students must earn four unit credits, including English 1, 2, and 3, and then another English credit, such as English 4, Speech and Debate, Word Study, Creative Writing, or Journalism. 
     
    Honors and Dual Enrollment:
    Students may choose to enroll in designated high school classes and receive college credit through a dual credit program offered in conjunction with area colleges. Students must have a GPA of 3.0 or better. Republic High School currently has an agreement with Drury University to offer dual credit English through English 4 Honors. Students who opt to take English IV Honors for dual credit will receive 3 credit hours for ENGL 150: Composition I. The following semester, students may enroll again for dual credit in English IV Honors and receive credit for ENGL 207: Expository Writing: The Heart of the Essay. If students choose not to dual credit first semester, the option for taking the second semester dual credit is unavailable as ENGL 150 is a prerequistie for ENGL 207. Students are responsible for the costs associated to receive college credit for these courses.