Republic High School English Department

Communication Arts Department

  • English Department Overview

     
    The English Department at Republic High School exists to prepare students for future endeavors after graduation. Our goal is to help develop students' writing, reading, speaking, and listening skills so that they can be successful upon graduation either in the workforce or in the college setting. 
     

    Teacher Information

    TEACHERS

    CONTACTS

    COURSES

    PICTURE

    Deb Chastain

    deb.chastain@republicschools.org

    • English 1
    • Literacy Connections
    D. ChastainDEB CHASTAIN

     

     

    Kristin Crandall

     

     

    kristin.crandall@republicschools.org
    • Creative Writing
    • English 4 Honors
    • Journalism
    • Publications/Yearbook
     KRISTIN HOWARD

    Lisa Deckard 

    lisa.deckard@republicschools.org
    • ACT/College Prep
    • English 2
    • Creative Writing

    LISA DECKARD

    John Edwards john.edwards@republicschools.org
    • English 2
    • English 3
     

    Amanda Hamilton

    amanda.hamilton@republicschools.org
    • Applied Communications 1
    • English 1
    • Reading
    AMANDA HAMILTON

    Kylie Hay

    kylie.hay@republicschools.org

    • Workforce Communications 4 
    KYLIE HAY

    Briana Kleine

    briana.kleine@republicschools.org
    • English 1
    • English 2
     

    Nicole McBroom

    nicole.mcbroom@republicschools.org
    • English 2 
    • Workforce Communications 3 & 4
     NICOLE MCBROOM

    David Norman

    david.norman@republicschools.org

    • English 1 
    • English 3
    DAVID NORMAN

     

    Beth Owen

     

    beth.owen@republicschools.org

    • English 3
    • English 4
    BETH OWEN

    Abbey Pitts

    abbey.pitts@republicschools.org

    • Applied Communications 3
    • English 2
    • English 3
     ABBEY ONKEN

    Megan Reaves

    megan.reaves@republicschools.org
    • English 3
    • English 4
    MEGAN REAVES

    Mikayla Siebert

    mikayla.siebert@republicschools.org
    • English 1
    • English 2
    M. SiebertMIKAYLA SIEBERT

    Karissa Talty

    karissa.talty@republicschools.org
    • English 1
    • Oral Interpretation
    • Public Speaking

    Katrina Townsend

    katrina.townsend@republicschools.org
    • Applied Communications 4
    • English 4
    KATRINA TOWNSEND
     
  • Specific Course Information

     
    Graduation Requirements:
    Students must earn four unit credits, including English 1, 2, and 3, and then another English credit, such as English 4, Speech and Debate, Word Study, Creative Writing, or Journalism. 
     
    Honors and Dual Enrollment:
    Students may choose to enroll in designated high school classes and receive college credit through a dual credit program offered in conjunction with area colleges. Students must have a GPA of 3.0 or better. Republic High School currently has an agreement with Drury University to offer dual credit English through English 4 Honors. Students who opt to take English IV Honors for dual credit will receive 3 credit hours for ENGL 150: Composition I. The following semester, students may enroll again for dual credit in English IV Honors and receive credit for ENGL 207: Expository Writing: The Heart of the Essay. If students choose not to dual credit first semester, the option for taking the second semester dual credit is unavailable as ENGL 150 is a prerequistie for ENGL 207. Students are responsible for the costs associated to receive college credit for these courses.