Republic High School English Department


  • English Department Overview

     
    The English Department at Republic High School exists to prepare students for future endeavors after graduation. Our goal is to help develop students' writing, reading, speaking, and listening skills so that they can be successful upon graduation either in the workforce or in the college setting. 
     

    Teacher Information

    TEACHERS

    CONTACTS

    COURSES

    PICTURE

    Deb Chastain

    deb.chastain@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5159

    • English 1
    • Literacy Connections
    DEB CHASTAIN

    Lisa Deckard - Department Chair

    lisa.deckard@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5196
    • ACT/College Prep
    • English 2
    • Creative Writing
    LISA DECKARD

    Amanda Hamilton

    amanda.hamilton@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5201
    • Applied Communications 1
    • English 1
    • Reading 2
    AMANDA HAMILTON

    Kylie Hay

    kylie.hay@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5122

    • Workforce Communications 3
    KYLIE HAY

    Kristin Howard Crandall

    kristin.howard@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5295 or 5324
    • Creative Writing
    • English 4 Honors
    • Journalism
    • Publications/Yearbook
    KRISTIN HOWARD
    Rachel Kramer rachel.kramer@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5180
    • English 2
    RACHEL KRAMER

    Nicole McBroom

    nicole.mcbroom@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5124
    • English 2 Honors
    • Workforce Communications 3 & 4
     NICOLE MCBROOM

    Joshua Neufeld

    joshua.neufeld@republicschools.org 417-732-3650 ext. 5155

    • Applied Communications 2
    JOSHUA NEUFELD

    David Norman

    david.norman@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5168

    • English 1 Honors
    • English 3
    DAVID NORMAN

    Abbey Onken Pitts

    abbey.onken@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5201

    • English 2
    • English 3
     ABBEY ONKEN

    Beth Owen

    beth.owen@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5136

    • English 3 and 3 Honors
     BETH OWEN

    Megan Reaves

    megan.reaves@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5329
    • Creative Writing
    • English 4
    • Literature, Leadership, & Society
    MEGAN REAVES

    Mikayla Siebert

    mikayla.siebert@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5156
    • English 1
    MIKAYLA SIEBERT

    Karissa Talty

    karissa.talty@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5307
    • Advanced Speech and Debate
    • English 1
    • Intro to Speech and Debate
    • Public Speaking

    Katrina Townsend

    katrina.townsend@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5197
    • Applied Communications 3 & 4
    • English 4
    KATRINA TOWNSEND

    Layne Wilson

    layne.wilson@republicschools.org
    417-732-3650 ext. 5319
    • English 3
     
  • Specific Course Information

     
    Graduation Requirements:
    Students must earn four unit credits, including English 1, 2, and 3, and then another English credit, such as English 4, Speech and Debate, Word Study, Creative Writing, or Journalism. 
     
    Honors and Dual Enrollment:
    Students may choose to enroll in designated high school classes and receive college credit through a dual credit program offered in conjunction with area colleges. Students must have a GPA of 3.0 or better. Republic High School currently has an agreement with Drury University to offer dual credit English through English 4 Honors. Students who opt to take English IV Honors for dual credit will receive 3 credit hours for ENGL 150: Composition I. The following semester, students may enroll again for dual credit in English IV Honors and receive credit for ENGL 207: Expository Writing: The Heart of the Essay. If students choose not to dual credit first semester, the option for taking the second semester dual credit is unavailable as ENGL 150 is a prerequistie for ENGL 207. Students are responsible for the costs associated to receive college credit for these courses.